Design in progress: Toby the little dragon

Before I start working on a new design I usually have a picture in my head of the amigurumi. I will first try drawing it. Then I will start staring at it and thinking about the best way to execute it. Here is my design.

WP_20141112_16_54_16_ProAs you can see, drawing is not one of my talents 😄 The feet and wings look ridiculous so I may have to draw them again separately. For now it does not matter yet. The face is the most important part of the ami(amigurumi).

I have started with the head and I just passed the hardest part of it: his chubby cheeks. Last night I was at a point of desperation at which I wasn’t sure I could pull it off. For me crocheting is partly an intuitive undertaking and you have to push on sometimes to see if your intuition was right. That is scary cause if you are wrong you have wasted a lot of time going into the wrong direction and you have to unravel and start over 😒 But it worked out well and I had what I call a happy accident cause my total stitch count ended up being a multiple of 6 stitches so now I can decrease in a regular way to finish the back of the head. To be continued my crochet buddies (and other buddies)😋

WP_20141112_16_26_06_Pro WP_20141112_16_27_02_Pro

Leave a Reply

